EJ Spurrell is Writing a New Novel

In 2008, I started work on the first draft of my first fantasy novel, Children of the Halo. Between January and March of that year, I had written nearly three hundred thousand words. After an additional six months of revisions, I had polished up the manuscript, whittled it down to just under two hundred and sixty thousand words (or roughly a thousand paperback-sized pages) and set myself to the task of self-publishing.

Self-publishing, of course, isn’t the best way to publish a novel. But the stark reality of the over-saturated traditional publishing market had turned me right off of pursuing the traditional channels to get my book published. It might have been years before I received a favorable response, and the reality was that I wasn’t willing to wait years. At the time, vanity publishing seemed to be the best option.

And so, in late 2008 I self-published my novel, and promptly forgot about it for another four years.

In 2012, my interest in writing was renewed, and I felt a need to re-publish the book with a new cover, an even more polished manuscript, and thus ended up with the Special Edition publication, which included a variety of extra short stories based in the same universe.

Overall, I put a lot of hard work into it, and earned some extremely favorable reviews. As of this writing, I have solid five-star reviews on Amazon and Smashwords, and a 4.6 star review on Goodreads. Although I have received few reviews for the work, the response was exceedingly favorable among those who took the time to review.

It’s been three years since I’ve put pen to paper in any serious effort, but I now find myself itching to once again wear the mantle of a writer. For the past year, I’ve thrown myself whole-heartedly into producing content for Black Trident TV on YouTube. A brainchild of my own, that seeks to provide entertainment and deconstruction of social issues and movements, but one that involves several awesome people as well.

But now I’ve been bitten. A story I’ve been working on for nearly twenty years that I can pinpoint the exact moment it was inspired has been forming word-by-word over the past month. I am now nearly thirty-thousand words into the new novel, and I plan to see it through to completion once again.

Tentatively titled The Last Luminii, the novel introduces a world in which magic has faded away into myth and legend, and follows five characters as they are pitted against totalitarian religious orders, violent war clans, political turmoil, and ancient secrets come to light. It deals with themes of racism, political control, and theocratic ideologies.

The summary, for those who are interested:

Magic, if it ever truly existed on the world of Averis, faded away into myth long ago. The gods and goddesses of old have remained silent for millennia. But in the midst of a political coup by the Oculum, a fanatical religious order in the Human Empire of Tannis Nor, ancient forces once again begin to stir.

I want to be clear that this story has been twenty years in the making. The world of Averis is rich and detailed, with a deep history, and even deeper secrets.

Also, I’d like to invite you to check out the first chapter over at Writer’s Café.

Leave a Reply

